Ponoka Stampede 2014 Auction
Rock 47 by Wrangler®

WPCA Awards

The WPCA Tour has a guaranteed 36 way payout at all shows with an average of $15,000.00 per day in prize money and an average of over $1000.00 per day for the day money winner.

Major Prizes

WPCA Pro Tour Champion

The Pro Tour Champion is declared annually. The winning driver receives the use of a GMCSierra for one year supplied by Alberta GMC Dealers.

World Champion Chuckwagon Driver

The World Champion Chuckwagon Driver receives the use of a GMC Sierra for one year supplied by Alberta GMC Dealers.

To increase excitement for the drivers and fans a new tour finals format has been developed:

The top eight drivers on the tour compete in a run-off in a separate format to determine the final four qualifiers in the championship sudden death final.

Individual Prizes

The WPCA Pro Tour has eight individual driver awards with a cash value of over $100,000.00.

  1. Rookie driver
  2. Most improved driver
  3. Chuckwagon person of the year
  4. Clean drive
  5. Wheels on fire
  6. World champion chuckwagon driver
  7. Equine outfit of excellence

The WPCA GMC Tour has paid out over $1,000,000.00 in prize money in the past three years

2010 Annual WPCA Banquet & Awards Presentation

Recognition of Tour Partners

L to R: Carmen Stone (WPCA), Joan Stone (4-H), Wayne Overacker (Mannington Floors), Martin Sobie (Chrysler Canada), Rod Garrossino (Encana), Patricia Etris (Encana), Leonard Wright (UFA), Bruce Watson (WPCA), Pat Powell (WPCA), Dick Brown (Ferus), Cathy Glenn (Calgary Herald), Myrnie Sands-Malvin (WestJet), Kelly Carson (WPCA)

WPCA Media Award

Billy Melville

Sponsored by: Target Rentals



Encana WPCA 4-H Mentorship Opportunity

L to R: Troy Dorchester, Patricia Etris (Encana), Joan Stone (4-H), Layne MacGillivray, Kelly Sutherland, Rod Garossino (Encana), Rick Fraser, Market Sutherland, Buddy Bensmiller

Missing: Shane Cartier, Chad Harden, Chance Bensmiller, Codey McCurrach

Race Against Hunger Program

L to R: Fiona Liebelt (Encana), Jordie Fike, Patricia Etris (Encana), Mark Sutherland, Darcie Erhardt (Encana), Rod Garossino (EnCana)

Missing: Sean DeBolt, Tim Haroldson, Codey McCurrach

Ty Tournier Memorial Award

Charleigh & Calie Profit

Sponsored by: Steve & Lynn Fountain

Presented by: Leo & Kim Tournier


WPCA Active Supporter Award

Darlene Bensmiller, Ferus Inc., Ja-Co Welding & Consulting, Lisa Venaas

Presented by: Pat Powell, WPCA President



WPCA Special Recognition Award

Dina Sutherland & Carolyn Sinclair

WPCA Clean Drive Award

Buddy Bensmiller

Sponsored by: Bushape Supervision Ltd., WestJet

WPCA Rookie Outrider Award

Doug Thomson

Sponsored by: Ferus, Olson Silver Company

Presented by: Jason Lemieux (WPCA)

WPCA Rookie Driver

Jordie Fike

Sponsored by: Hoof N Nail Farrier Supplies Ltd, PennWest

George Normand Lifetime Builders Award

Ron Carey



Most Improved Outrider

Logan James

Sponsored by: Paul & Carol Easton, Ferus & The Glass Family


WPCA Most Improved Driver

Colt Cosgrave

L to R: Doug McLaughlin (High River Autoplex & RV), Reo King, Tara Cosgrave, Lacey Hurlburt, Bernice Cosgrave

Sponsored by: Paul & Carol Easton, Troy & Shannon Flad Family, High River Autoplex & RV, Hoof N Nail Farrier Supplies Ltd.

Past Member Tribute

Cliff Claggettt

L to R: John Copithorne (WPCA), Ed Claggette (LaFarge) & Claggett Family



WPCA Dodge Pro Tour Champion

Mark Sutherland

Sponsored by: The Town of Strathmore, Chrysler Canada Inc. & Alberta Dealers Advertising Association


WPCA World Outriding Champion

Chanse Vigen

Sponsored by: Alberta Janitorial, Ferus, C & R Loree, Northern Bridge and Mat Rentals, Drifters Power Tongs, Daler Pressure Testing, Visa Truck Rentals, High River Autoplex & RV

WPCA Dodge World Champion

Kelly Sutherland

Sponsored by: Jim & Denise Bottomley, Tri-Mak Electrical Inc., Chrysler Canada Inc., Alberta Dealer's Advertising Association

WPCA Judging Award

Al Lee

Sponsored by: Kubota






WestJet Corporate Flight Challenge

1st - Image Distributors

2nd - Ja-Co Welding & Consulting Ltd.






Import Tool Corp. Ltd. "Equine Outfit of Excellence"

"Nickle" - Rick Fraser

"Ciano" - Hugh Sinclair

"Sir" - Buddy Bensmiller

"Grandy" - Grant Profit

"Crafty" - Chad Harden

"Ben" - Obrey Motowylo


Chuckwagon Person of the Year

Don Adams

Sponsored by: UFA Co-operative Limited



Wrangler® Long Live Cowboys